home

Wanderer

Going for a morning walk is nice, letting myself out of my cage for a little while. Also not rushing immediately to work, wandering, nose following, nowhere to go, nothing to do, and just doing that.

The Age of Manifestos

I see online manifestos sometimes and I wonder if:

  1. Anybody reads them
  2. They have any effect at all.

Once upon a time, when the world was smaller, some ambitious intellectual would write a declaration about something or other and it would galvanise a (significant portion of a) generation into dramatic change of one kind or another. Nowadays it just feels like yet another kid making yet another statement about their naive and utopic vision of the world. Corporations have manifestos and artists have mission statements, and it all has that flavour of ego and self-aggrandisement. But then, maybe I’m just in a cynical mood this morning.

home