home

Liquid Prose

Reading back over the day’s writing, I think I’ve finally achieved some approximation of a deliberate and unique writing style. Actually, it’s not particularly unique, and it basically answers the question, what if William Faulkner wrote science fiction and was a teensy bit more economical in his dialogue?

What I am going for, ultimately, are sentences which flow like water, which contain as much information as possible, and create the impression of an entire, contextualised idea being transmitted into your mind in one continuous flow. In other words, it is to be the antithesis to the stop-start stutter of modern prose that makes reading feel like driving in downtown traffic.

And because it behooves every pretentious author to give their bastardised pastiche-style a unique name, here is mine: Liquid Prose.

I encourage you to try it out. I will post examples at a later date.

home